Food Equipment Center

Food Equipment Center sounds terribly impressive, doesn’t it? The reality is that it’s just that I had too many things I used fairly frequently and didn’t know how to store them. If you have this problem my solution may work for you.

I wanted some kind of free-standing “cupboard” so I wasn’t taking up valuable real estate in my kitchen cupboards. It had to be big enough to put my food dehydrator, pressure canner, some of my canning tools and jars. I also had a vacuum sealer, bread maker, and deep fryer I didn’t want using up counter space. But it couldn’t be so big I had to keep it in some distant spot far from the kitchen.

One day a friend mentioned she was having a garage sale. She posted pictures of some of the items she was selling and I found my “food equipment center!”  It is an old entertainment center from the days before flat screens. It was deep and not too tall for me to easily reach the top. There was a shelf beneath the space for the television. It had a deep drawer originally for VHS tapes (if you don’t remember them, Google it). And best of all, when I said I wanted to buy it my friend gave it to me free and she and her brother even delivered it, carried it in, and set it in place!

It holds my dehydrator, pressure canner, and vacuum sealer in the area originally holding the television. On top I keep my bread maker, stand mixer, and deep fryer. The shelf above the drawer is large enough for my half pint canning jars, extra rings, and used lids.

Food-Prep-Station-01

The drawer is large enough store a digital food scale, a canning utensil kit, food mill and accessory kit, canning labels, large and small jar sealers (for the vacuum sealer), and a package of food handling gloves.

Food-center-drawer-01

While it’s not quite perfect; I’d like to be able to keep the things on top actually in the cupboard, it does free up a tremendous amount of space in the kitchen cupboards and on the countertop.

Even if you don’t have a friend with an old entertainment center to give you it’s not too hard to find one. Check resale shops, Habitat for Humanity stores, and garage sales. You may find the ideal center for your needs at a really great price!

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. Although I'm disabled I try not to let it get in the way of what I love doing.

Leave a Reply

