The Real Me

This blog was started because I wanted to share what I’ve learned in over 30 years of being a homemaker. It was begun because I’m still learning. I started writing this blog because I love cooking, baking, gardening, my husband, kids, and grandchildren, and my dogs. But I haven’t been completely me.

road-humps-ahead-246_1920-01

Even though I’ve met some of you online I feel I haven’t really let you get to know me. Let me introduce myself. I’m a fat, funny, sardonic, and intelligent (to a degree), disabled 58 year old lady. I tease pretty much everyone and no one leaves my house without at least being offered and sometimes bullied into eating something.

I love my husband and I admire him. We’re truly good friends and that has made our relationship much richer than if we simply loved each other. I’m crazy about our three kids; a daughter and two sons. Each has, in his or her way, taught me valuable lessons. I think that it’s a gift that, now that they’re adults, they’re the kind of people who can teach me things. My grandchildren are the light of my life. From the teens (and how the heck did they get that old?) to the toddler I adore them all. I’m blessed to have incredible friends, both online and off. They are the people who are always there in times of need and times of joy. Because of my friends I spent an unusual and wonderful Christmas Day last year and hope that it becomes a tradition.

And then there are our dogs. I’ve never been without a dog for more than a few months in my entire life. I’ve had other critters. My sons showed rabbits all over the country. Yes, there are rabbit shows just as there are dog shows. When I still had my big farm we had the rabbits (300 of them), two ponies, sheep, chickens, and a goat who thought I was his mom. We had chinchillas, African Pygmy Hedgehogs, guinea pigs, and a boa constrictor with whom I fell in love.

I intend to continue postings recipes, garden tips, beauty advice, and all the rest but, get ready. I’m going to write to you, my friends, and that means you’re going to hear about everything that goes on here. The cooking, baking, gardening, attempts at dog psychology, and everything that makes up the things I’m passionate about. As Bette Davis said, “Hold on. It’s going to be a bumpy ride!”

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. Although I'm disabled I try not to let it get in the way of what I love doing.

Leave a Reply

