Amish Macaroni Salad

My husband is still having trouble eating but he came home a few days ago with a container of Amish Macaroni Salad and he loved it. Since it’s one of the things he’s actually enjoyed eating I want to be sure he has it whenever he wants. I’ve haven’t made it for a really long time so I dusted off my recipe and made a batch today. I’m sure he’ll love it!

This macaroni salad is colorful, tasty, and a perfect side dish for all those summer barbeque meals. It’s a bit on the sweet side so feel free to adjust the sugar to suit your taste.

Plated (1)-01

Amish Macaroni Salad

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked elbow macaroni, drained and cooled
  • 3 hardboiled eggs, finely diced (reserve a couple of slices for garnish)
  • 1/4 cup red onion, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup celery, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup carrots, finely diced
  • 2 cups Miracle Whip
  • 2 tbs. yellow mustard
  • 1/4 cup sugar   
  • 2 tsp white vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp salt

 

Instructions:

  1. In a large bowl mix together eggs, onion, celery, and bell pepper.
  2. In a small bowl stir together the salad dressing, mustard, sugar, vinegar, salt, and celery seed.
  3. Pour over the vegetables, and stir in macaroni until well blended.
  4. Cover and chill for at least an hour before serving.

Save

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma (known as Bam) who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. I have a disability so you may pick up tips on how to do things when some things just don't work right!

5 thoughts on “Amish Macaroni Salad”

    1. I really cut back the sugar normally used in this salad. Instead of 3/4 cup I used 1/4. It could probably use even a little less but my husband is starting to be able to taste sweet things so I wanted to make it just sweet enough.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Let me know how it turns out without the sugar. I’m not supposed to eat much sugar either. I’m diabetic but, trying to put weight on my husband, I’ve been really going wild with recipes.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

