Free Strawberry Plants

June around here means strawberries. There are u-pick farms everywhere but I have my own strawberry plant in the garden. Since strawberry plants become less productive over time I’m going to propagate new plants so I’ll go on having thriving plants and fresh strawberries. By doing this I’ll get lots of free strawberry plants.

free-strawberry-plants

If you have a strawberry plant you have seen the long, mostly bare runners they put out. These are how I’ll get my new plants.

 

First I put a few pots filled with good potting mix near my mature strawberry plant. I could also just peg the runners down in the garden soil but I want to move my strawberries to a different location. I located the plantlets on the runners. Some even have tiny roots already.

runner1

This is a pretty long runner and the plantlet is at my fingertips.

visible-roots

You can see the little roots beginning to form.

no-roots

This plantlet doesn’t yet have visible roots but it will develop them.

I’m leaving the runner attached to the parent plant and inserting the roots into my pots. I press the plantlet into the soil gently but firmly. I’m leaving the runner attached to the parent plant for now. Then I insert a u-shaped piece of wire to hold the plantlet in place.

pressing-into-soil

inserting-staple

After about a month the plantlets should have grown new leaves. At that point I’ll cut the runner from both the plantlet and the parent plant. My new strawberry plants will be ready to transplant. Next summer I’ll pinch off all the blossoms from these new plants to allow the plants to develop strong root systems and ensure I get a really good harvest from them every summer thereafter.

Every couple of years I’ll start new plantlets so, as the older plants begin to fade, my strawberry patch will be filled with hearty, young plants.

Save

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. Although I'm disabled I try not to let it get in the way of what I love doing.

Leave a Reply

