UPDATE: Little Lost Anna

It hasn’t been a week since we discovered the little dog I’d seen was actually lost but a lot has happened in that time. First, I found that her owners aren’t terribly interested in her. In the time since I first contacted them to say Anna was here they haven’t called a single time to find out if she was still around.

The owner’s mother did bring food the first day and she’s promised to bring more canned food today; I’ve discovered that this little beggar can be a chooser since she won’t eat just dry food. Other than the one call from her today, she hasn’t shown any interest either.

Little-Lost-AnnaAnna stops by for her lunch. She’s always watching for danger.

Anna is emaciated so I’ve been feeding her very small meals at least 4 times a day. Feeding her a lot all at once could harm or even kill her. So, starting very early in the morning and going throughout the day until long after dark, I mix some of our dry dog food with the canned food I’ve been stingily adding to her meals.

Each time I put her food out I call her name. She never comes, of course. She’s still terrified of humans. But she does show up after a while to eat. Anna likes to make sure there are no people around when she dines.

We’re hoping to get a live trap from a friend so we can lure her in with food and get her inside where it’s safe. We have a coyote that’s already eaten a small dog here and Anna is even smaller than the one who was eaten (judging by the size of the foot we found…and that’s all we found of the dog). Every night she spends in the wild terrifies me.

In addition to the coyote I discovered another danger to Anna. She’s crossing the road out front. This is a two-lane road that most people seem to think has the same speed limit as the autobahn. It’s also a favorite road for 18-wheelers that, for whatever reason, avoid taking the interstate. I spent over thirty minutes crying the other night because I saw her on the opposite side of the road and, in spite of the late hour, cars were hurtling past. Thank God she made it safely across but I now have 614 extra grey hairs.

It breaks my heart that Anna’s owners don’t seem to give a darn about her. I’ve already fallen in love with her. She’s so tiny and adorable. I just want her to have a happy, calm life with people who will love her as she deserves. After beginning her life locked away in a basement then being “rescued” by people who just don’t care, Anna deserves unconditional love.

Save

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. Although I'm disabled I try not to let it get in the way of what I love doing.

3 thoughts on “UPDATE: Little Lost Anna”

  1. Thank you for the update, Anna has not had a very good intro into life until she came upon your home and you! I am praying that she doesn’t get hurt either on the road or that a wild animal finds her. Trapping her sounds like the most humane and fastest route to her safety and well being. Anna, she has touched many hearts now and I believe she belongs with you. You have shown her more love than any other person to date. Bless you and Anna!! Keep us updated, please!!

    Like

    1. We’re getting a live trap tomorrow morning. I am going to cook scrambled eggs and a hot dog for her. I’m hoping the scent will overcome her timidity and make her go in. Say a prayer.

      Like

    2. The live trap came this morning but it’s a bit smaller than I expected. IF she’ll even go in at least she won’t stay inside long. I’m planning to make her something that smells heavenly to lure her. I want her safe inside so much it hurts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

