Southwest Cheeseburger Casserole

 

Summer barbecues are one of my favorite things and we pretty much all love a good cheeseburger. But the weather here has been extremely hot and the humidity is, in a word, ridiculous. The idea of standing over a flaming grill isn’t really appealing right now. So, to get the flavors without the heat I made Southwest Cheeseburger Casserole. It’s full of good old American flavors that we all enjoy, without all that standing outside in the 97° heat.

Southwest-Cheeseburger-Cass

One reason I like this dish is that I can adjust the barbecue sauce to mustard ratio to suit our tastes on any given day. Sometimes my husband can’t handle a lot of mustard but other days he can. But the base flavors are the ones we use in our grilled burgers so it’s a familiar and tasty start. You can play with the sauce and add your own favorite seasonings to the burger mix.

I always use a sweet onion; Vidalia onions if I can get them. And I use K.C. Masterpiece original barbecue sauce. It’s a good, thick sauce so it works well in this recipe. For the biscuits I just get a can of Pillsbury Grands®. The cheese I use varies according to what the family wants. This time it was a fiesta blend. I also use cheddar jack, and sometimes just cheddar.

biscuits-being-spread

First I spread the biscuits into the casserole dish. I’ll pinch the seams together and try to make it as even as possible.

lot-of-cheese

I use a lot of cheese! This is 3 cups.

sauce-and-mustard-mix

Adding the mustard makes it taste like a real cheeseburger.

cheese-spread

The meat mixture goes on top of the biscuits, the sauce on top of the meat, and the cheese tops it all.

Out-of-the-oven

The cheese is melted and it’s ready to slice. You can pretty much follow the lines of the biscuits to get 8 pieces.

* This is a great make ahead meal. With just my husband and myself I have dinner one night and have three additional meals. I slice two portions and freeze them together. To reheat I cover the dish with foil so the cheese doesn’t burn and heat at 350 until heated through.

Southwest Cheeseburger Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground round
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and diced
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 roll large biscuits (8 count)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup thick barbecue sauce
  • 3 tablespoons yellow mustard
  • 2 cups finely shredded cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. Place ground round in a large skillet over high heat to brown.
  3. Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder
  4. When meat is nearly cooked through add diced jalapeño.
  5. Cook for about 1 minute then add the onions.
  6. Cook until onions are translucent.
  7. Drain the meat mixture well.
  8. While meat is cooking press the biscuits into an ovenproof casserole, flattening them, and pinching the edges together to form a single layer.
  9. Bake the biscuit until it is set and very light golden brown.
  10. Spread the meat mixture over the biscuit layer.
  11. Mix the barbecue sauce and mustard together until completely blended.
  12. Spread the barbecue mixture over the meat.
  13. Top the sauce with the cheese and bake until the cheese is melted.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma (known as Bam) who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. I have a disability so you may pick up tips on how to do things when some things just don't work right!

3 thoughts on “Southwest Cheeseburger Casserole”

Leave a Reply

