Bam’s Breaded Pork Chops

Yesterday was not a fantastic day. My hands were terribly swollen when I woke up and it took me a while to even be able to make a loose fist. On top of being stiff and sore all over I had a migraine. The only thing I wanted to do was retreat to my bed and feel sorry for myself but I refused. If nothing else I was determined to make a good dinner and thick, juicy pork chops coated in a slightly spicy breading is my idea of a great dinner! It was time for Bam’s Breaded Pork Chops.

We had some 1 inch thick pork chops and making my breaded pork chops isn’t too labor intensive even for a bad day. And the taste is worth any amount of work.

bams-breaded-pork-chops

I preheated the oven to 400°F. Then I had to make the spice/seasoning mix. I wanted something a little spicy but not too hot. And since I was using Italian panko breadcrumbs I wanted to stick with flavors that wouldn’t clash with the seasoned crumbs.

The rest of the prep was easy. I whisked a couple of eggs and dipped my pork chops in to coat both sides.

egg-wash

I can fit 4 chicken thighs in this dish so you can see the pork chop is pretty big!

Then I put the chops into my breadcrumb and spice mixture. I pressed the breadcrumbs into the meat with my hands so they’d really stick to the meat.

crumbs-and-seasoning-mix

The seasoning mix combined with the breadcrumbs. My parsley flakes are a bit bigger since I dry the parsley I grow in the garden.

chops-breaded

I darned near could have made one pork chop to split between the two of us!

I put the chops in the oven and let them bake for about 35 minutes. I checked the temperature and took the chops out to rest and come to the proper temperature (145°F).

The pork chops are tender and juicy and the breading provides just the right crunch and spice to the chops. I served them with baked potatoes and green beans fresh from the garden.

out-of-the-oven

Bam’s Breaded Pork Chops

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 1 inch thick bone-in pork chops
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • 1 cup Italian panko breadcrumbs

Seasoning mix:

  • 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons onion powder
  • 3 tablespoons dried parsley
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons paprika

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F
  2. Make seasoning mix by stirring the seasoning ingredients well to combine thoroughly
  3. Combine 2 tablespoons of the seasoning mix with breadcrumbs and stir with a fork to combine (the remainder of the seasoning mix can be stored in an airtight container for several months)
  4. Place seasoned breadcrumbs on a large plate
  5. Put eggs in a bowl large enough for the pork chops and whisk
  6. Dip pork chops, one at a time, in the eggs and turn to cover both sides
  7. Press the pork chops into breadcrumbs then turn over
  8. Use your hands to press the breadcrumbs into the meat
  9. Arrange pork chops on a baking sheet and bake at 400°F for about 35 minutes (until internal temperature reaches 140°F)
  10. Remove chops from oven and allow them to rest for several minutes (until internal temperature is 145°F for medium rare)

 

 

 

 

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma (known as Bam) who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. I have a disability so you may pick up tips on how to do things when some things just don't work right!

2 thoughts on “Bam’s Breaded Pork Chops”

Leave a Reply

