Bam’s Battered Steak Bites

A long time ago, longer than I like to admit, we took a trip to California. On the way we had a really tasty meal in a tiny diner somewhere out west. I can’t even remember which state we were making out way through at the time but I remember that meal! Battered Steak Bites is my take on that dinner.

I didn’t think to ask for the recipe when we were at the little diner so I experimented and came up with something that very closely matches the taste I recall. The recipe does take a little time but it’s mostly time I’m just waiting for the steak to marinate.

bams-battered-steak-bites

First I cut a sirloin steak into bite size pieces. I’m using a very small piece of sirloin since it’s plenty for the two of us. You can use the same amount of batter for a steak that’s about 1 1/2 pounds.

bite-size-pieces

Then I mix an egg, 2 cups of buttermilk, 2 tablespoons of my spice mix, and 1/2 cup of flour in a large bowl.

batter-mixed

The steak pieces go into the batter and I make sure they’re covered by the batter as much as possible. Then the bowl gets covered with plastic wrap and goes into the refrigerator for at least 2 hours and up to 8.

steak-marinating-in-batter

When it’s time to start cooking the steak bites I pour vegetable oil (you can use canola) in my cast iron skillet and heat it.  I want the oil at about 360°F.

While the oil is heating up I sift 2 1/2 cups of flour with some pepper into a separate dish.

sifting-flour-and-pepper

Next I remove the steak pieces from the batter, one at a time, allow the excess batter to drip off. The pieces are dredged in the peppered flour.

allowing-batter-to-draindredge-the-meat

It’s time for the steak bites to be placed in the hot oil and deep fried for 4 – 5 minutes. I’m careful not to overcrowd the steak bites in the skillet.

brown-the-steak-bites

As the steak bites fry I move them around a bit. They always seem to want to huddle together.

When the bites are browned and the coating crispy I remove them from the skillet and let them drain on a paper towel-lined plate. The USDA recommends beef be cooked to a minimum temperature of 145°F but, to be honest, I only cook mine to about 135°F so they’re still medium rare.

These crispy, spicy steak bites go great with fried potatoes and a vegetable!

bams-bites

Bam’s Battered Steak Bites

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons Bam’s spice mix (recipe follows)
  • 3 cups flour, divided
  • 1 1/2 pounds beef sirloin steak
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • Oil for frying

Directions:

  1. Cut sirloin steak into bite size pieces.
  2. Beat together the egg, buttermilk, spice mix, and 1/2 cup of flour in a large bowl until smooth.
  3. Add the beef and stir until beef is well coated.
  4. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours and up to 8 hours.
  5. Sift 2 1/2 cups flour with the pepper into a large bowl.
  6. Heat the oil to 370°F in a deep fryer or cast iron skillet.
  7. Remove steak strips from  batter allowing excess to drip off.
  8. Dredge each piece in the seasoned flour.
  9. Place the steak bites, a few at a time, into the hot oil and fry until golden brown on the outside (4 – 5 minutes). Don’t overcrowd the steak in the oil.
  10. Remove and place on a paper towel-lined plate.

Save

Save

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma (known as Bam) who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. I have a disability so you may pick up tips on how to do things when some things just don't work right!

3 thoughts on “Bam’s Battered Steak Bites”

Leave a Reply

