Bam’s Malt Shoppe Cookies

These cookies are like a trip to an old-fashioned malt shoppe!

I shared this recipe back in March and I realized I haven’t made these cookies since then. It’s definitely time!

When I was a kid there were still honest-to-goodness malt shoppes in our town. The people behind the counter wore caps, usually made of paper, and you could order pop (soda), root beer floats, ice cream, milkshakes, and my favorite a chocolate malted. I miss those old shoppes and so I decided to bring them back with Bam’s Malt Shoppe Cookies.

When our oldest granddaughter was learning to talk she couldn’t quite pronounce “Grandma.” It came out “Bam ma” and she then shortened it to “Bam.” 

Bam’s Malt Shoppe Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks of softened butter
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ cup light brown sugar
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ½ cup + 1 tablespoon vanilla malted milk powder
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons salt
  • 2 cups milk chocolate chips or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°
  2. Cream the butter then add both sugars and cream until fluffy.
    1buttercreamed-01
  3. Add the eggs and beat slightly, then add the vanilla and beat until combined.2adding-vanilla-01
  4. Add the malted milk powder and beat until combined.
    3malt powder in-01
  5. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and salt.4sifting-flour-baking-soda-a
  6. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, beating gently until just combined.5mixing-in-flour-01
  7. Fold in the chocolate chips.
    6fold-in-chocolate-chips-01
  8. Drop by teaspoonful’s on an ungreased cookie sheet. The dough spreads a lot while baking so leave plenty of room between each one.
  9. Bake for 9 – 11 minutes. ∗I start checking at 7 minutes as my oven tends to be a little hot.

 

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. Although I'm disabled I try not to let it get in the way of what I love doing.

7 thoughts on “Bam’s Malt Shoppe Cookies”

Leave a Reply

