Not KFC Fried Chicken

I was always a big fan of KFC starting back in the days when it was Kentucky Fried Chicken and the real Colonel Sanders was featured in the commercials. Those eleven herbs and spices were the Holy Grail for many a mom in my neighborhood. If only they could make friend chicken just like the Colonel! I saw that The Kitchn had a recipe that they believe is the original KFC 11 herbs and spices so I wanted to try it. I have to say I found it nothing like KFC and neither did Mr. Comfortable. So I’m calling it “Not KFC Fried Chicken.”

Spicy and delicious but it's not KFC Fried Chicken

Not KFC Fried Chicken

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. Although I'm disabled I try not to let it get in the way of what I love doing.

8 thoughts on “Not KFC Fried Chicken”

  1. Hahaha. I remember how on Sundays after church, mother would send me off to KFC for their Big bucket. We had acquired 4 step siblings to add to our already four, which made eight so the KFC run was a godsend to my mom. I got turned off on KFC when as a sales rep, I stepped in back to talk to the “manager”. Her fingernails were black with gunk and I thought, “she’s handling the chicken I eat?” Not to mention her hair was just as oily. Perhaps it was nothing more than an environmental hazard of working there, but it sure turned me off, not to mention that as I got older my cholesterol numbers rose and well it’s a good excuse to not indulge in much of fried anything.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve been trying to put weight back on Mr. C after his cancer treatments and feeding tube. But he’s still a stick and I have the stunning physique of a sea slug! I’m going to have to start cooking healthier and just accept he’s not going to gain his weight back!
      I understand her hair being greasy. It’s a messy process, deep frying anything. But the nails? Ick!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My problem is that if I give him a treat I take one, too. Enough of that! My hips are starting to rub on the wheels of my wheelchair! I’ve started to call myself names when I think I can’t here me! lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That looks wonderful. Frying chicken can be dangerous. I have a couple scars from doing just that. Needless to say I don’t anymore. We do have a few places in town that do a great job of it. So if I get a hankering for some fried chicken, I can still indulge without the mess, fuss, and pending scars! Happy new year to you! Koko 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

