The Blogger Tag

This is the first I’ve heard of the Blogger Tag and I was honored to be tagged by https://joliesattic.com/> Jolie of Joliesattic.com. It was great reading her answers and getting to know this wonderful lady a bit better! I’ve found some great people in the blogging community whom I consider friends although we haven’t (yet) met in person. The Blogger Tag is a wonderful way to share myself and, more importantly, get to know more about my friends in the blogosphere!

Question 1: How tall are you?

I know I’m about 5’7” but the darned measuring tape insists I’m a bit less than 5’4”! It doesn’t matter, though. I can reach a lot of stuff in my cupboards (if they’re right in front) and I have Mr. C and Pete to get the stuff that’s too farback for normal people (like me) to reach.

Question 2: Do you have a hidden talent?

I used to be a fantastic singer as long as no one else was within earshot but lately I don’t sound as amazing as I once did. I have several other hidden talents but I haven’t actually discovered them yet. I was sure one of them was being a tightrope walked but Mr. C wouldn’t let me find out.

Question 3: What’s your biggest blog-related pet peeve?

To answer this I have to make a confession. I’m really into politics and I’ve even asked my sons’ friends if they’re liberal or conservative. I already know which sides of the political spectrum my friends fall. But I don’t post about it. I don’t have a political blog. And it drives me nuts when someone who I expect to write about cooking, baking, homesteading, etc. suddenly starts posting nothing but political rants. I have both liberal and conservative friends but if any of them started heated political debates with the group I’d probably pack up and go home.

Question 4: What’s your biggest non-related blog pet peeve?

I thought it was people who don’t keep promises but, quite honestly, it’s grown men who don’t pick up after themselves. In fact, it’s anyone who doesn’t! You can drop the promise breaking folks from your life (unless you’re related…closely…to them) but if someone not picking up after himself bugs you it’s because you live with him and how hard is it to put the empty package in the trash instead of leaving it on the island when the trash is right there next to the island and do you think I’m your maid? Oh. Sorry. Yeah, that’s my pet-peeve.

Question 5: What’s your favorite song?

Am I allowed to say that every song I’ve downloaded is my favorite? It really depends on my mood. I’m a total sucker for theme songs; the themes from “Out of Africa” and “Jurassic Park” for instrumentals are way up there. Almost every song recorded by Josh Groban and Jordan Smith. “What a Wonderful World” but only the Louis Armstrong version! My taste in music is really eclectic. I have everything from opera to The Ramones on my playlist!

Question 6: What’s your favorite social media website?

I’m still getting the hang of social media outside of Facebook so I don’t really have a favorite yet.

Question 7: What’s your favorite way to spend your time when you’re alone?

I love reading the blogs I follow. That’s not a suck up. I really do love it! I also love binge-watching shows Mr. C isn’t crazy about like “Band of Brothers” or World War II movies. Mr. C is a sensitive soul and I have all the sensitivity of a serial killer. He can’t even eat while watching fake surgeries on television!

Question 8: What’s your favorite junk food?

Let me think. Chocolate. And I also love chocolate. Burger King Whoppers are way up there, too. And, of course, chocolate.

Question 9: Do you have a pet or pet(s)? If so, what kind and what are their names?

I have my (was supposed to be) service-dog-in-training, Remy. He’s a 5 year old Anatolian Shepherd Dog. We also have Henry (our spare dog) who we decided is one day older than Remy. He was dumped on a freeway and is a rescue. He’s a Boxer/Pit mix and incredibly sweet. We also have, because of that whole sensitive soul thing with Mr. Comfortable, two ducks. The duck is Spot and she’s a Black Swedish/Pekin cross. The drake is Penguin and he’s the same mix.

Question 10: What are your number one favorite non-fiction and fiction books?

I’m the same with books as I am with music. I read a really wide variety of books, both fiction and non-fiction. Right now I’m re-reading the Tom Clancy novels and my current non-fiction read is a book on the Civil War. I don’t like self-help books as I find most are helpful mostly to the person raking in the money from the book. Oh, I also read the dictionary. Yep. I’m that person.

Question 11: What’s your favorite beauty product or tool?

My honest answer is soap and a comb. I rarely wear makeup or do my hair. I almost never leave the property unless it’s to go to Pete’s house. I’ve been known to use moisturizer when I see it sitting on the vanity and remember that my skin is starting to look a lot like Tut’s. I may try Jolie’s olive oil and coconut oil for the creases!

Question 12: When were you last embarrassed? What happened?

I usually manage to embarrass myself only on days that end in “y.” I get embarrassed if I do something stupid even if no one else sees it. And the dogs are always quick to point out my embarrassing moments. I’m afraid they’ll come out with a tell-all book someday. One of the worst embarrassments I ever experienced was going up into the attic of my first house and then being afraid to come back down the ladder. My husband said, “I’ll get you a pillow and blanket. Boys, say goodbye to your mother. She’s going to be living in the attic now.”

Question 13: If you could only drink one beverage (besides water) for the rest of your life what would it be?

I drink water all day (and night) so I’m glad that’s a gimme beverage. I’d have to say coffee since that’s the only thing, other than water, I drink every day. I sometimes have a glass of pop and I pick different flavors when I do get pop.

Question 14: What’s your favorite movie?

Again with the favorites! Why do we have to pick favorites? I have a whole list of “favorite” movies. For romantic movies it’s “P.S. I Love You.” In the war category “American Sniper” and “Saving Private Ryan” although “The Bridge on the River Kwai” is right up there. I love just about every John Wayne western. My favorite horror movie varies as do the comedies.

Question 15: What was your favorite lesson at school?

That you can get away with skipping school if you tell your teachers first. I did that in high school and not only didn’t get in trouble but had teachers asking if I needed more time to get work done or if I wanted to talk. Oh! You mean favorite class! I loved spelling in grade school, history, biology, and architecture in high school, and biology in college.

Question 16: If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?

There’s some land about 10 miles from here I’d like to own. I was born and raised here and I don’t want to live any place other than Michigan. I’ve traveled some but this is where I’m happiest.

Question 17: PC or Mac?

PC and Android.

Question 18: Last romantic gesture from a crush, date, boy/girlfriend, spouse?

Mr. Comfortable is really good at romantic gestures. He once rode his bike in 90+ degrees to pick some wild flowers I mentioned I thought were pretty. He rode two miles just so I wouldn’t hear the car leave and have my surprise ruined. He still brings me wildflowers (my favorite kind of flowers). He made me breakfast in bed all the time before he got sick. This guy is a keeper!

Question 19: Favorite celebrity?

I love Gary Sinese, Gerard Butler (can I have him for Christmas?), and Josh Groban. There are others but I was only supposed to pick one.

Question 20: What blogger do you secretly want to be best friends with?

I’d probably move all the friends I’ve made in the blogging world within a few miles of my house if I could. I really love the people I’ve met.

Question 21: Who is your biggest inspiration?

I think my biggest inspirations are Mama and Daddy. They always told me I could do anything if I put my mind to it. Daddy used to say I had “a whim of iron.” For support, Mr. C, Pete, and Paul have my back. They all support me in every way they can in all my endeavors. Whether it’s lending a hand on my projects or talking things through, I know I can count on them. Andi (Pete’s gf) and my former daughter-in-law, Mindy are also incredibly supportive!

Question 22: What is your favorite blog to read?

Whichever one I’m reading at the time is my favorite. I don’t follow any blogs I don’t really love so I can’t choose a favorite. All the writers I follow have attracted me for different reasons. They all have a style of writing I enjoy and, if I’m following them, they interest me for various reasons.

Question 23: What is your favorite high street shop?

I’m guessing a high street shop is a little downtown kind of store. My village doesn’t really have a big variety of stores and The Bloated Goat Saloon isn’t really a shop. I think my favorite is actually way outside the next town east of here and definitely not on the “high street” but more “the middle of the cornfield.” It’s a butcher shop where you can get everything from pork chops to kangaroo. Seriously. You can get kangaroo steaks there.

Question 24: Are you in education or do you work?

I’m a professional cripple. But I really don’t work at it. I’m an amateur cook, baker, and gardener and a devotee of being a grandmother. I’d say I work at my blog but I enjoy that so much it’s not really work.

Question 25: One thing you are proud of?

I’m very, very proud of our family. We’ve stuck together through everything life has thrown at us, good and bad.

I Tag –

Camie

Valerie

Lindsay

Miriam

Mindy

Aki

There are so many other bloggers I’d love to get to know better, so please tag yourself if you’d like to participate!

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma (known as Bam) who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. I have a disability so you may pick up tips on how to do things when some things just don't work right!

22 thoughts on “The Blogger Tag”

  1. I love the response to number 4! Mine does the same! Or putting things back where you got them, the way you found them. I love my guy but he notoriously doesn’t pay attention to where he gets things and I have to hunt them down because they’ve been relocated or he doesn’t seal the package back up the way he found it and crackers and cereal gets stale and yeah the container of milk with one drop in it back in the fridge. For Pete’s sake! Where does that come from?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think we may be married to the same guy! I don’t know how many times I’ve told him to get the air out of the bread bag before putting the twist tie back on. Or telling him that he has to actually TWIST the tie in order for it to do any good. And when he does dishes things just disappear! He puts them in whatever cupboard he last put something in so if he put a skillet away he’ll put a baking dish in the same cupboard! It’s like playing hide-and-seek when I want to cook!
      My sons are well trained. They not only put stuff back but keep the spices in their own houses in alphabetical order. The younger one, Pete, is as OCD about cleaning as I am and so we get along great! Mr. C was too old to train when I got him. *sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I get that. Mine was definitely too old to train and I wonder why his mother didn’t. But, I got to give her credit, she was a single mom whose husband died when he was a little guy so she had to work and do it all. The most valuable thing she taught him was to be a good observer and listener and to know when to say nothing at all. Like when I say, “I’ve gotten so fat now” NOTHING. Not even a twitch.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. LOL Good boy! My sons were almost exclusively with me. My ex was NEVER around. They’re great cooks, housekeepers (more the younger one on that), and they know what to say and when to just keep quiet! And their dad (not my ex but Mr. C who is really their dad) is an expert at compliments!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I AM as wide as a house (really) and Mr. C still thinks I’m beautiful. I’m thinking of getting him his own service dog; a guide dog. But it’s great that he thinks I’m still good-looking even if I do suspect dementia.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. completely agree on the not picking up after ones self! there is nothing worse than clothes 3 feet from the laundry basket, tools laying around, and dirty dishes randomly left behind in every room… Drives me INSANE lol 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The wildflowers story is just beautiful. And I so agree about both your blogging and non-blogging pet peeves. Although I have majorly moved away from using Facebook, I use to hate when people would post these insanely long political rants and then actually go as far as to unfriendly people who didn’t agree with them. It just seemed to unnecessary and so dramatic. Look, I just want to scroll through, laugh at a couple of memes and see some pictures of food. I don’t want to read 30 comments about your political agenda!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

