A Conversation with Spoiled Ducks

In our continuing duckumentary (I know but I couldn’t help myself) series CCNN (Comfortable Coop News Network is proud to bring you the latest in the lives of Penguin and Spot. We will talk to them about how their lives have changed in the last couple of months in the CCNN Special “A Conversation with Spoiled Ducks.

Penguin & Spot are spoiled ducks!

Continue to video

 

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. Although I'm disabled I try not to let it get in the way of what I love doing.

37 thoughts on “A Conversation with Spoiled Ducks”

    1. No. Once Mr. C helped with butchering Stu the other two were safe. In “A Conversation with Death Row Ducks” they tell us all about what their life is going to be like. We’re going to use them for eggs and to produce ducklings which will end up in the freezer. And when it’s time to butcher THOSE ducks, Mr. C isn’t going to be allowed anywhere near the process.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL No. I used to get attached to the rabbits as they were growing to the right size but I never hesitated to butcher them. They’re cute and funny but, above all, the critters here (except for the dogs) have jobs. They’re either food producers or food.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh well, I am very much a city girl, and so is my husband (we are even from the same city), but he runs away from Palmetto bugs, and I have to execute them. Do you know what those are? They are specific to tropics.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I am not much of a hero because I am allergic to all bugs and even caterpillars, but someone has to do it. This is the story of my life: I get to do things that others choose not to do because someone has to do it.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I was spoiled as a child, spoiled as a wife, and even spoiled by my kids! I can do some bugs but anything I can’t someone else always jumped in to do! My oldest son’s gf is terrified of spiders, too yet she got up the courage to knock one off my leg at a 4th of July party a few years ago. I was literally frozen with fear. After that, I’d take a bullet for her!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Spiders bring good luck! There is no reason to fear them, and you are not supposed to kill them. You should gently move them to a place where they don’t bother you, i.e. outside. A spider saved King David’s life once.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I have a slightly different method. I gently scream at the top of my lungs until someone comes to kill it. Then that person has to flush it down the toilet…twice…otherwise it might come back. Then I pour a little bleach in the toilet just to be sure. Then I burn the house down.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. That’s brilliant! Now I just need about 2,000 lbs. of boric acid and a match! There was one of those creatures in the bathroom and it got away! And I’m getting tired of standing on my stool with a can of hairspray (to slow it down so Mr. C can flush it).

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I’ve been shocked that I’ve only seen a jumping spider (which I let live only because it’s been hunting the darned fruit flies) and that one in the bathroom. I’m going to go get my boric acid and try not to spread a 3″ layer of it all over the bathroom.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Oh live the spiders be, already! They bring you luck and help you get rid of all kinds of flying critters. Boric acid needs to be sprinkled very sparingly in the corners, that’s all. When we bought this condo, the kitchen (original one!) dated back to 1937. One of these days I’ll tell you how I tried to teach the cat to catch mice. I had a veritable zoo in the kitchen! Boric acid saved me, otherwise I wouldn’t’ve been to cook and eat there.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. My farm was built immediately after the Civil War. We used to get huge spiders in the house. I once actually thought one was a baby mouse one night! The dog ran away from it. I think I got really phobic about them when someone’s pet tarantula got into the screened in porch when I was a little girl. I didn’t know there were spiders that big! And my sister decided to tell me that spiders eat people then backed that up by letting me watch one of those 1950’s irradiated spiders-the-size-of-houses movies when my parents weren’t home.

        Liked by 1 person

      11. And have you read Harry Potter (I believe it’s book 4) that features the spider king Aragog? Booo!
        A tarantula is something different, of course. I think it’s much safer to have a pet alligator, as some people do in Florida, than a tarantula. But I also believe that nothing eats people but their own fear.

        Liked by 1 person

      12. I’ve never read any of the Harry Potter books. I realize my overwhelming fear of spiders isn’t rational. I do run a fever and get a really big welt if I get bitten by a certain kind of spider but that rarely happens. And they do serve a purpose; they eat insects that could cause a lot of damage if their populations boomed. But none of that matters when I see one. And if one touches me I literally freeze. I can’t move, I can’t talk, I can’t even blink.

        Liked by 1 person

      13. LOL Of course! And I’m getting better. I negotiated with spiders in the garden last summer. “If you go THAT way, I’ll leave you alone. If you come THIS way I’m going to take this shovel and pound you into the ground like a tent spike.” And I kept my word!

        Liked by 1 person

      14. All except one. Pete laughed when he heard me bargaining but I told him to just watch. The spider went right out of the garden. Of course it’s like any truce. It could end at any moment!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

