Homemade Croutons

Lately I haven’t been doing a lot of “real” cooking. My migraines have been pretty unrelenting and food is something I don’t want to think about let alone cook. I’ve been eating packaged croutons for breakfast and lunch because they’re convenient. But poor Mr. Comfortable was running out of them for his salads. So I decided to make a big batch of homemade croutons to satisfy both of us.

Homemade croutons

Originally published on The Comfortable Coop

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma (known as Bam) who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. I have a disability so you may pick up tips on how to do things when some things just don't work right!

30 thoughts on “Homemade Croutons”

      1. I’m going to call the doctor. I thought today was going really well then right after dinner the migraine started up really bad again. LOL But I’ll probably get Dr. Wallace & he’ll order 100 expensive tests then discover I need new glasses.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I realized that, if the headache is SO bad I’m getting sick in the wastebasket I don’t feel up to calling. If it’s not that bad I tell myself they’re going to stop so I don’t call. It’s like stopping medicine because thou feel better so you assume you don’t need the medicine. Dumb.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. My usual, rare severe migraines usually end within a minute or two after I get sick. These haven’t been. And even when I don’t actually have a headache there’s the aura. I hate to over react but this darned thing is keeping me from doing things. I find myself sitting, staring at nothing. And I WANT to do things but I just can’t get motivated. I just want to sleep.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Margaret. I’m going to call the doctor. This has gone on too long. And it can’t be from John bumping me. Yes, he really whacked me but the concussion would have cleared up long ago.
      I do steal a couple of croutons before they’re cooled. And Andi and her older daughter were snacking on them yesterday like crazy. Time to hit the food bank for more stale bread! lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know best. You know what your body is telling you. Listen!! :):) I need you, who will feed me such good recipes, with such fun love banter? Wow, that sounded selfish, and I don’t care (stomping my foot) :):) I bet they were. I’d be eating them all up, huhum… I mean “snacking” on them too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

