Forced Intimacy: An Ableist Norm

Having find myself, too often, being to accept the touch of strangers I found this article important.

Leaving Evidence

Photo of my wheelchair in a dark room, silhouetted against a doorway, with a large shirt outlined in lights hanging against a dark wall.

“Forced Intimacy” is a term I have been using for years to refer to the common, daily experience of disabled people being expected to share personal parts of ourselves to survive in an ableist world. This often takes the form of being expected to share (very) personal information with able bodied people to get basic access, but it also includes forced physical intimacy, especially for those of us who need physical help that often requires touching of our bodies. Forced intimacy can also include the ways that disabled people have to build and sustain emotional intimacy and relationships with someone in order to get access—to get safe, appropriate and good access.

I have experienced forced intimacy my entire life as a disabled child, youth and adult…

View original post 1,013 more words

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma (known as Bam) who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. I have a disability so you may pick up tips on how to do things when some things just don't work right!

10 thoughts on “Forced Intimacy: An Ableist Norm”

      1. Thank you Elizabeth. Some folks get offended. Like I’m saying their recipe isn’t good, which isn’t my intent. I read a recipe and think wow that sounds good, I bet it would be good with this or that too. Not better, if you know what I mean. Oh that barbecue cordon blue chicken…mmmmm hahaha you take your time, I’m not going any where 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

