Beauty Treatments You Can Make at Home

Spas can be insanely expensive but every woman wants to feel pampered from time to time. Try these beauty treatments you can make at home to make yourself look beautiful and feel fantastic!

 

scrub-548198_1920-01

*One caveat; always perform a patch test on skin before applying a new treatment all over.

Brown Sugar Olive Oil Body Scrub

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4 tbsp. honey
  • 2 tbsp. cinnamon

Use this as you would your usual body scrub in the shower.

Hot Oil Hair Treatment

  • 1/2 cup of soybean oil
  • 8 drops of sandalwood oil
  • 8 drops of geranium oil
  • 8 drops of lavender oil

Mix the ingredients in a glass measuring cup until well combined.

Warm the contents in the microwave for about 25 seconds or until very warm but not too hot.

Dampen your hair but don’t get it soaking wet.

Paying special attention to the end of your hair, apply the hot oil evenly to damp hair.

Comb through with a wide-tooth comb and wrap hair in a hot towel for 20 minutes.

After 20 minutes shampoo hair and rinse well. Don’t use conditioner after this treatment.

 

From Around The World –

Japanese Face Mask:

Soak a cupful of rice in warm water for 30 minutes

When the starch rises to the surface, strain to remove rice

Blend the rice water with rice flour to form a paste

Spread on clean face and leave for 10 minutes

Rinse with cool water

This absorbs oils and leaves your skin soft and younger looking.

Japanese Hair Gloss

Rub camellia oil on hair to give it amazing shine. The oil is full of protein which penetrates the hair follicle, adding body and gloss.

Italian Skin Treatment

  • 2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
  • Juice and zest of one blood orange

Massage the paste on your face, neck, and chest and rinse with cool water. The citric acid in the orange exfoliates and the vitamin C helps plump up the skin. The olive oil is a natural emollient. This will leave your skin glowing!

Russian Body Smoother

Rub your moistened body with wet coffee grounds. Massage the grounds into skin to exfoliate and leave skin softer. The coffee can even help with minor skin irritations and the caffeine gives your skin a toned appearance.

Brazilian Skin Softener

Roast a variety of Brazilian nuts then crush them to draw out the oils. Apply warm oil to your skin or allow to cool to form a balm-like consistency. Nut oils are just loaded with moisturizing agents. They hydrate your skin and even promote healing. Brazilian women often use the softener on skin irritated by shaving or waxing.

Australian Tea-Tree Oil Blemish Treatment

Aborigines are known to have used tea tree oil for more than two centuries to treat skin infections. It is a natural astringent so it exfoliates and unclogs pores. Dab a little tea tree oil on blemishes or spread a bit on areas that have clogged pores.

Balinese Foot Soak

Layer smooth stones on the bottom of a large basin then fill the basin with warm water. Add a few drops of eucalyptus oil. Soak feet for 30 minutes then rub with coconut oil. Eucalyptus oil is a topical pain reliever which, combined with the warm water, helps sooth sore, tired feet. Pressing feet gently on the flat stones is like a foot massage.

Β 

 

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. Although I'm disabled I try not to let it get in the way of what I love doing.

9 thoughts on “Beauty Treatments You Can Make at Home”

      1. My face could definitely use some maintenance but I just never bother. πŸ™‚ I’m old and my husband and grand kids adore me and my sons think I’m just fine. Perhaps if they’d scream when they saw me, just once, it would motivate me!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I try to remember moisturizer and I am really good about sunblock. My problem is I’ve always been happier riding a horse, digging in the dirt, or gathering eggs than putting on makeup. But oh, these are tempting, even for a tomboy like me!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well, I’ll never get on a horse again and my farm is gone but I still have a tiny bit of land and my garden and small critters. Although I’m going to have a big chicken dinner if these slackers don’t start laying better! lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

