Dreams and reality

Since Mama left us that little insurance policy I can’t stop dreaming about putting a bathroom down here in the basement. Climbing the stairs is getting more and more difficult. Right now the hardest part is dealing with dreams and reality because they don’t always go together!

wallpaperscave

After doing a lot of online browsing I believe I’ve decided on the fixtures I want for the new bathroom. Mr. C has given his blessing on everything so I know we’ll both like the look of the room when it’s complete.

glacier-bay-vanities-with-t.jpg

The light vanity top really appealed to me and the polished chrome handles will help to reflect the light. A little. That’s what I tell myself. I just like the way they look.

polished-chrome-pfister-cen

I chose a polished chrome faucet because of the hardware on the vanity. The trick will be keeping it gleaming at all times. Lessons is wiping down the faucet may be in Mr. C’s future but he’s really good at keeping things tidy so I’m not really concerned.

rubbed-bronze-golden-lighti

I like this light fixture but with the frosted glass I worry it may not cast enough light. This is something I think I’ll actually have to leave the house to see. There are also some polished chrome fixtures but, to me, they look too modern for the vanity.

white-aquatic-shower-stalls

The shower stall was the most important choice. I’ll need a seat as I often can’t stand up long enough to shower. This stall has a fixed seat and plenty of shelves for shampoo, conditioner, body washes, etc. It’s a low threshold version so it will be easy enough for me to “climb” into even on days when my legs are giving me heck.

Mr. C and I both want a detachable shower head. There are roughly 9 billion choices so finding one we both like shouldn’t be hard.

Those are my dreams for the bathroom but the reality right now is getting the space cleared.

freezer-in-garage

This is the spot in the garage which will be part of the bathroom. There’s a large freezer, built-in tool cupboards, and a lot of things that need to be moved to permanent storage.

Garage-part-of-bath

Since I took the picture of the freezer even more boxes and other items have been piled up in the area I need to clear. This may take me using my very north Dublin accent and angry tone. I’ll have my daughter-in-law, daughter, son-in-law, and Mr C to help move everything but getting them all together will take some planning.

Inside-part-of-bath

The wall on the left side of the photo will be removed. The garage part of the bathroom joins the basement section there. Both my large and Andi’s smaller freezer will have to be moved. Then we can begin framing in the bathroom.

It seems like an almost insurmountable task but it should really only take one full day of carting things to the pole barn and moving the freezers to open up the entire bathroom space.

I worried, briefly, about how everyone would manage during this chore. Then I remembered what my family is like when things are difficult. Everyone will start joking and laughing and what could be a nightmare day will actually be fun. I thank God for this amazing group of people because no matter what they make everything better!

So that’s the dream and reality of beginning work on the bathroom. I’m confident that, before long, I’ll be showering in the garage like a normal person!

Author: Elizabeth

I'm a wife, mom, and grandma (known as Bam) who loves cooking, baking, gardening, and all things that go into making a cozy coop for my brood. I have a disability so you may pick up tips on how to do things when some things just don't work right!

13 thoughts on “Dreams and reality”

    1. I was sitting in the garage earlier….strange but true…and thought “I’m gonna have my older son put in a heat lamp in that bathroom.” He’s an electrician and doing all the wiring. Although we’re going to insulate the heck out of the bathroom I think a nice heat lamp would be fabulous!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I found that half a lemon cleaned up the faucets very nicely. I juiced it and used what was left. Scrub with it and then rinse and dry. FlyLady’s swish and swipe has made cleaning the bathroom a breeze.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

The Light

Inspire, Encourage and Empower

LIFE WITH 3 KIDS

Gardening while raising kids

Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case - you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 - 2021

Tony Tomeo

Horticulturist, Arborist and Garden Columnist

My folks

A Place for Family, Food, and Fun.

Top stories

Fun stories For You To Enjoy

let me photograph you softly

photographs on the street

Just trying to get by....

My road to weightloss

Sauce Box

Never get lost in the Sauce

Seeking a Village

Wife. Mom. Newbie Christian. Raw. Honest.

RoughBandit

#joke #lol #haha #funny #hilarious

Linkedin Blog

Navigating You To Future Success

Momma Bird Blog

Mom Deserves More

Lallie Lee

Learning to Live Fearless

The Hansen House

A home and lifestyle family blog.

Kelly in the Kitchen

Creating sound recipes inspired by many things near & far